skip to content | Accessibility Information

Principal Researchers

The management team included a Chief Scientific Advisor from Manchester Metropolitan University and three thematic leaders for the areas of economics, science and technology drawn from the core parties of MMU, University of Cambridge and Cranfield University. The Management Team was chaired by Omega’s Chief Executive.

Members of the management team were:

Chief Scientific Advisor, Prof Dave Raper, has overall responsibility for the scientific and technological robustness of the project.

Thematic Leaders act as specialist reference points for science, technology and economics and have the responsibility for the academic direction and execution of the multidisciplinary and cross-sector knowledge transfer projects.


Thematic leaders are:
Prof David Lee (MMU) – science
Prof Ian Poll (Cranfield) – technology
Dr Andreas Schafer (Cambridge) – market / economics

Professor Jeremy Astler– Jeremy Astley is professor of Computational Acoustics at the Institute of Sound and Vibration Research (ISVR) at the University of Southampton and  director of the Rolls Royce University Technology Centre (UTC) in Gas Turbine Noise.


Dr Don Grainger– Don Grainger obtained a Doctorate in atmospheric physics from the University of Auckland, on the topic of remote sensing of cloud properties. Following a short period working in UV research at the New Zealand Meteorological Service, he took up a post-doctoral position in the Physics Department at the University of Oxford.


Professor Mohamed Pourkashanian– Mohamed Pourkashanian isProfessor of High Temperature,Combustion Technology, Energyand Resources at the ResearchInstitute, School of Process,Environmental and MaterialsEngineering (SPEME).    He is bothHead of SPEME and Director ofthe Centre for ComputationalFluid Dynamics.


Professor Keith Shine – Theme Leader for Climate Research at University of Reading, PhD Admissions Tutor Professor Chris Wilson– Chris Wilson is the director of Sheffield University’s Low Carbon Combustion Centre, a joint venture with the University of Leeds.



Dr David Gillingwater – Joined Loughborough University as a Lecturer in 1984; promoted to Senior Lecturer in 1988; Leader of the Transport Studies Group, 1999 – 2002; appointed University Fellow in 2009